Speed Networking: Ask Me Anything!

The Rules

  1. Stations are set up with selected ‘VIP’ practitioners, who are prepared to answer questions on their work.
  2. There are only enough chairs for the VIPs and the number of attendees in the room.
  3. When the bell rings, each attendee picks a chair with a VIP. There are only just enough chairs, so when they are full they have to find another station.
  4. For 10 minutes, the attendees can ask the VIP anything about their field. Sample questions will be provided in case no one has specific questions (ex. What is the biggest challenge in your area of work? What is the innovation you see in your work that you wish more people knew about etc.)
  5. When the bell rings, attendees have to move to another seat (like musical chairs) to meet another VIP.
  6. This continues for a set period of time. Follow-ups can take place over the conference ‘slack’.

Moderator: Dr. Zach Mohr, University of Kansas

‘VIP’ Practitioners:

  • Corinne Duncan, Director of Elections, Buncombe County, North Carolina
  • Kristin Mavromatis, Election Manager, Mecklenburg County, North Carolina
  • Tabitha Collingwood, Assistant Director, Stanly County Board of Elections, North Carolina
  • Kimberly Blackwelder, Director of Elections Stanly County Board of Elections, North Carolina
  • Scott McDonell, Clerk, Dane County, Wisconsin
  • Lori Edwards, Supervisor of Elections, Polk County, Florida
  • Parker Holland, Elections Administration Manager, North Carolina State Board of Elections
  • Sarah Nasta, Elections Counsel, Committee on House Administration
  • Sean Wright, Senior Elections Counsel, Committee on House Administration
  • Michael Pomante, Research Associate, States United Democracy Center
  • Jonathan Robinson, Director of Research, Catalist
  • Ethan Bauer, Election Performance Project, LLC
  • Maria Bianchi Buck, Senior Program Officer, Election Performance Project, LLC